Schools Foundation holds annual meeting

-A A +A
By The Staff

The annual meeting of the Levy County Schools Foundation was held on July 18 at the Ivy House in Williston. The Plum Creek Foundation was host of the event that included installation of officers and honoring retiring board of director members.

Foundation President Missy Seay introduced new board of director members including Jeff Beauchamp, Beauchamp and Edwards,C.P.A. Office; Phil Parker of Plum Creek Foundation; Dr. Bill Martin of Chiefland. Recognized as the Outstanding New Board Member for 2007-08 was Phil Parker.

Other board members recognized for their outstanding service included Bob Williams , Outstanding Committee Chairman for his work with scholarships. This year over $50,000 was awarded to graduating seniors at the four district high schools. The Outstanding Board Member for 2007-08 was presented to Carol Jones for the second year in a row for her work with Career and Technical Grants and the Levy Star Scholar prepaid tuition program.

Two members of the board of directors retired this years. Emory Sullivan of Inglis, a 1989 charter member, retired after 19 years of service, the longest ever member. He served as president for three terms and treasurer for two terms. Frank Dola of Progress Energy served for six years from 2002-2008.

Cliff Norris, superintendent of public instruction, installed the officers for the 2008-09 term: President: Missy Seay; Vice President, Bob Williams; Secretary, Dara Bergdoll and Treasurer, Heath Davis.

The Levy County Schools Foundation for 19 years has served as the 501(c)3 not for profit corporation for the Levy School District.