Holloway elected

-A A +A
By Pat Hibbs

About one hour after the Williston city election Tuesday, the canvassing board presented its findings to the council for its certification.

County Commissioner Danny Stevens, representing the board (which also included city manager Jim Coleman, city clerk Barbara Henson and Williston Police Department Chief Dan Davis) announced that the City Council seat in Group E had been won by Brooks Holloway, 138-58, over Lindsey Hager.

Mike Shoemaker won the group D seat unopposed, and R. Gerald Hethcoat will serve another term as mayor.

The referendum allowing ad valorem tax rebates to stimulate economic growth or new and expanding businesses in the city passed handily, 111-79. A measure to increase the terms of the mayor and council members from two to three years failed by only four votes, 99-95.

Turnout for the election was light. Only about 15 percent, 200 of the 1,400 registered voters in the City of Williston, cast votes.

The new council members will be sworn in at the April 8 meeting of the council.